The Clos Chavigny with the Chapel are the last vestiges of a wonderful chateau built in 1638 by the architect of the King, Pierre le Muet , for the Cardinal Richelieu’s Finances Minister. Destroyed in 1833 this chateau was sold stone by stone. The remaining buildings are now listed in the inventory of historical monuments protects the remaining buildings from now against any defacement and are protected again any damages.
At the same period, in 1631, the Cardinal Richelieu builds a huge Chateau not far away from Lerne and a new town which will carry his name. The park and the town still exist and are the witness of this past grandeur.
In 1805, back from the immigration, Richelieu’s heirs sold the defaced chateau to a real estate agent, which resold it stone by stone. Same sad destiny for those two properties linked by a joint history.
7 rue de la Rouillère, 37500 Lerné - FRANCE
Email : email@example.com
© Le Clos Chavigny invites you to enjoy a charming stay in Guest house in Chinon, medieval city of the Loire Valley.